Isabelle Harden’s experience in India

Isabelle Harden
Volunteer Name:Isabelle Harden
Project Attended:Volunteering for 16 and 17 Year Olds in India
Country Attended:India
Volunteer Bio:I am a 16 year old girl who lives in London but goes to boarding school just outside of London. I would describe myself as outgoing and generally a very happy person.
What was your greatest achievement? I think my greatest achievement was when the children that we were teaching knew how to say all of the fruits in English that we had been trying to teach them for the past week, it was an incredibly rewarding moment.
Did you feel you made a difference? Yes I do feel that I have made a difference, teaching the younger children was challenging at times as they weren't always as willing to learn, however I do feel that during the 2 weeks I was there they benefited from the attention and that we did impart some knowledge to them. I especially feel I made a difference to the women we were teaching who were eager to learn and grasped what we were teaching them very well.
What advice would you give future participants? Really throw yourself into it, when going to a different country, especially one with such a contrasting culture such as India it can be easy to feel a little overwhelmed. My advice is honestly to give you everything you've got because if you embrace the culture you truly will have the most amazing time.
What was your most memorable moment? My most memorable moment was the end session of women empowerment where we played games with the women and got covered in henna and dressed by the women in saris. It was really lovely to bond with them fully and embrace their culture in such a way.
Please tell others why you think they should sign up for a program with Kaya Kaya gave me a great opportunity to do volunteering at such a young age (16). They looked after all of our concerns, provided us with all the information we needed and made sure that we were fully prepared. As a whole they gave me an amazing experience that I will never forget and I would greatly encourage you to sign up for a program with kaya as I am sure you will not regret it.


Testimonial


“The task that i most enjoyed was women empowerment which involved my friend and I teaching around 10-15 women of ages ranging from 15-50. It was fascinating learning about how different their lives were and amazing to connect with people that live so far away. I think the best part of it was the feeling that i really was giving back to the community and I can’t describe the satisfaction of teaching them and them grasping some of the more difficult concepts.”